League of Legends – Champion Classes

One match is a strategy game between two teams. Each team has five members and each member has a role to play and a place on the map. What role you play must be agreed upon by consensus with your teammates, therefore playing with friends is highly encouraged. However, it is possible to play efficiently with strangers given that members know how to respect one another. League of Legends allows players to discuss their roles in a lobby before the game begins. 

You must first choose a role or have a role assigned to you before you select a Champion. Your choice of Champion heavily determines your performance throughout the game. The five roles I mentioned are Attack Damage Carry (ADC), Top Lane, Mid Lane, Jungler, and Support. Five players, five roles. Two members of the same role will cause both to suffer in growth rate while simultaneously leaving one side of the map exposed. 

It is possible to play any Champion with any role for fun. However, League of Legends is a game of passion and competition, similar to sports. While you may find yourself accompanied by jesters, you may also find yourself surrounded by jocks. LoL is a player versus player and people want to win. To win, you must be aware of the advantages and disadvantages each Champion may give you. These so-called weaknesses and strengths can be shared by multiple Champions. The class system was created to lump each character together who share the same principle so new players know where to start looking based on their own preference, novices to know who to try next without getting shocked by severe difference in experience, and for the formulation of team synergy.

League of Legends has 148 Champions as of January 2020. Aphelios was added mid-December of 2019 and Sett was announced early in January of 2020. The roster of this 11-year old game is ever expanding. New characters will always be added and old Champions will be updated with the change of times. How each of these playable units are classified also changes with time, but as of January 2020, Riot Games have classified each Champion in the following general categories:

  • Controller
  • Fighter
  • Mage
  • Marksman
  • Slayer
  • Tank
  • Specialist

These ‘Classes’ are generalized descriptions to filter the long list of Champions introduced in the ever-growing game of League of Legends. This arrangement is meant for beginners. Riot Games does not expect you to memorize each Champion before you start playing. Riot gives a lineup of free to play Champions, each of them are rotated periodically and the lineup is always random. 

Each Class is not set on any of the five roles. These are simply categories that help identify what each Champion does best so you will know what to expect when faced against a certain Class. A Champion’s class is determined by Riot based on how the players have played each Champion over the course of the game’s decade-long run. Any new heroes will be classified under these labels as per the developers’ design philosophy which was honed through the years.


Blitz 1 1024x576

Controller includes all Champions with the ability to manipulate the battlefield in some ways. They can either cripple the enemy or enhance allies. Either way, they have abilities that can benefit the entire team in a clash. The Controller is divided into two subclasses, Catcher and Enchanter. 


Garren 1024x576

Fighters are all about engaging the enemy. Champions classified as fighters have high enough Attack Damage to wear down adversaries. This is matched by a relatively high survival rate that discourages 1v1 engagement. This Class is divided into two Subclass, each prioritizing a different approach to warfare.


Annie 1024x576

All Champions under ‘Mage’ deal Magic Damage. They all benefit from items that increase mana and Ability Power. Purchasing Attack Damage items is a waste of time and gold because their basic attacks will also deal Magic Damage as opposed to the regular Attack Damage. Attacks from Mages can only be blocked by Magic resistance and not Armour. 


Ashe 1024x576

Marksman is the only official Class Tag that does not have a subclass. All Champions in this list follow a simple discipline: ‘Sustain Damage’. They will spend most of the match dealing damage by basic Attacks while abilities either enhance their stats or controls an enemy target. Marksmen are pretty much duellists with long range weaponry. 


  • Aphelios, the Weapon of the Faithful
  • Ashe, the Frost Archer
  • Caitlyn, the Sheriff of Piltover
  • Corki, the Daring Bombardier
  • Draven, the Glorious Executioner
  • Ezreal, the Prodigal Explorer
  • Jhin, the Virtuoso
  • Jinx, the Loose Cannon
  • Kai’Sa, the Daughter of the Void
  • Kalista, the Spear of Vengeance
  • Kindred, the Eternal Hunters
  • Kog’Maw, the Mouth of the Abyss
  • Lucian, the Purifier
  • Miss Fortune, the Bounty Hunter
  • Senna, the Redeemer
  • Sivir, the Battle Mistress
  • Tristana, the Yordle Gunner
  • Twitch, the Plague Rat
  • Varus, the Arrow of Retribution
  • Vayne, the Night Hunter
  • Xayah, the Rebel


Fizz 1024x576

Champions classified as Slayers are all designed to kill. It doesn’t matter how or when. The goal is to remove the enemy Champion from the picture. If any of these Champions are present in a clash, always expect some casualties. 


Naut 1024x576

Tanks are universally identified across all games as units with high defence and low offence. That is not always true for many of these Champions. Some have abilities that could put them in Controllers. Others can be played as if they were Fighters. Tanks can be expected to have the highest defence in every match, but this general knowledge makes them the least likely targets for anyone. One might think that they should always be at the front lines. If all of them are, then who protects the rear units? This is why the roles are split into two.


Gp 1024x576

Champions under Specialists are not designed to be played in any single role. In fact, the Specialist tag was created to avoid forcing certain Champions into ‘Hybrids’. The effort to classify Champions has only begun around 2018. Before then, ‘roles’ or more accurately ‘play styles’ are labels that only hints at a Champion’s capabilities. 

Riot has always designed each Champion to be unique. The point of creating a new character was never to simply extend the roster. Rather, each introduction was meant to make the game feel new. By patch v3.10, Riot decided to assign each existing in just one Class as mentioned above. They base these decisions on how players tend to play each of them. To Riot’s delight, they found certain Champions that cannot be put in a single Class. Some Champions have definitive Main and Secondary but Champions in the list below are considered too unique to fit a role. The best they can be are Hybrids, equal balance of two or more roles. Other Champions simply have a specific playstyle despite what role it is supposed to play. 

  • Azir, the Emperor of the Sands
  • Cho’Gath, the Terror of the Void
  • Fiddlesticks, the Harbinger of Doom
  • Gangplank, the Saltwater Scourge
  • Gnar, the Missing Link
  • Graves, the Outlaw
  • Heimerdinger, the Revered Inventor
  • Kayle, the Righteous
  • Kennen, the Heart of the Tempest
  • Nidalee, the Bestial Huntress
  • Quinn, Demacia’s Wings
  • Singed, the Mad Chemist
  • Teemo, the Swift Scout
  • Zilean, the Chronokeeper